www.bestpubs.co.uk
 



Home 
Our Blog 
Search Whats On 
Search For Pubs 

------JOIN BESTPUBS------- 
Landlords 
Contributors 
Advertise 

-----SWITCH AREA TO------
Ashford 
Brighton 
Canterbury 
Chatham 
Chichester 
Croydon 
Dartford 
Deal 
Dorking 
Dover 
East Sussex 
Eastbourne 
Epsom 
Farnham 
Faversham 
Folkestone 
Gillingham 
Godalming 
Gravesend 
Guildford 
Hastings 
Horsham 
Kent 
Kingston upon Thames 
Maidstone 
Margate 
Ramsgate 
Redhill 
Rochester 
Sevenoaks 
Sittingbourne 
Surrey 
Tonbridge 
Tunbridge Wells 
West Sussex 
Woking 
Worthing 

Search Other Areas 

--------SHORT CUTS--------- 
Contact Bestpubs 
Pub Books 
Cookies 


 Selected Comments in Tunbridge Wells

Mike Booty
 
The Alf Ramsey Pub in Tunbridge Wells was threatened with closure towards the end of 2014. Now nearly June 2015 it is still very active not only as a pub but a social centre for the whole area. Should it close, it would be a great loss to the local community.
Wednesday, May 27, 2015Rating: rosettes

Anonymous
 Poor Dinner Saturday 3rd July 2010‎ -

We went there for dinner last Saturday; Wasn't a late booking but my husband had the second too last Fish and Chips was quite early in the eve !!

I had the pork belly which was quite frankly really poor,the veg were cold the sauce(Jus)tasted quite revolting and the service if you can call it that was shocking.
We usually go to The Black Pig(sister pub) that is always fine,hadn't eaten at the George and Dragon for a while and had heard it had gone down hill again........
I let the waitress know and some sort of Supervisor with poor customer service came forward and took half of one meal off the bill !!!!!

We wont be going back,what a shame .. What a way to treat paying customers.

Advice don't gamble try Woods in the pantiles far better !!
Friday, July 9, 2010Rating: No rosettes

Crack
 Foul and Unpleasent
Where to start!

Having spent a thoroughly wet three days, camping in the local area we decided to visit the Abergevenny Arms for Sunday lunch with our aim being to spend several hours eating and drinking, racking up quite a large bill for the pub, we were a group of 10. The pub itself was lovely and in the main room they had a huge fireplace which contained a wood burning stove, fully loaded with paper and logs ready to burn. On seeing this my wife spoke with the barman and asked whether we could light a fire and he said yes. Several minutes later the barman told us the fire couldn't be lit as it was set for the evening. We apologised and said we would let the fire die down, the barman was happy with this. We then ordered from the menu, which wasn't cheap but looked very good fare (prices for mains 9 / 13.) When our food arrived we were asked to move from the comfy chairs to a large table that was set up for us - we were told to leave our coats on the sofas so we could return to them following lunch.

The food, in the main was very good - I had the marsh lamb, no issues.

Halfway through lunch a woman started throwing our coats around and when we asked her why she literally blew her top, came over to the table and started to verbally abuse us in front of other guests. Our crime - was that we lit the fire! We explained that we had asked and had received permission and that when told we apologised etc. She continued to rant on and to be honest we were a bit dumbstruck as to her rant, it certainly seemed like she was spoiling for a fight. My wife and I then went with the landlady to speak with the barman who quelle surprise altered his version (though I can see why given the events that followed.)

We returned to the table and the landlady came over after about 15 mins and in still quite an aggressive voice said 'this is not open to discussion, but I want to say sorry....' Not open to discussion? I'm sorry but her reaction was totally over the top and unwarranted.With our meal ruined, the atmosphere destroyed, we asked for the bill, which for 10 people came to approx 160. We decided that we were only going to pay 125 (about half the price for the food) and take our custom elsewhere. We explained this and then left the building and we were followed out by the Landlady and the Chef who I assume was her husband.

We asked for the Police to be called due to the situation that was developing. The Chef went to his car and blocked our car in their car park - a Mexican stand off then ensued. No point the whole group remaining so half left, so my Wife, Myself and two friends remained, waiting for the Police. After about an hour the Chef came out with two of staff to confront us. Face to Face, he hurled obscenities firstly at myself, spittle covering my face, my hands firmly wedged in my pocked. Seeing I wasn't rising to his verbal assault he then moved on to both my other friends doing exactly the same. He screamed that he had a 'restraining order' and that he could not hit us though if were to hit him then all hell would break out. His two staff behind him look terrified and no doubt the Chef and the Landlady are a pleasure to work for.

Eventually the Police arrived and to cut a long story short we were advised to pay the missing amount which we begrudgingly did - however if we'd only left our name and address with the Pub then we would've been well within our rights to take out custom elsewhere, which we did. Reading the other comments, it's quite clear that this couple have serious issues going on and both are thoroughly unpleasent to the point of being foul.

I would not recommend this Pub to anyone.
Tuesday, May 4, 2010Rating: No rosettes

Alan
 Try it!!!
A large, family orientated pub that welcomes regulars and new customers with a light atmosphere and great food. The new owners really know how to let customers have a good time. The wine list is superb!
Friday, June 19, 2009Rating: rosettes

Kim
 Great pub
This is a great and friendly pub with excellent value home-cooked food. The current landlord is Bob Lawrence
Saturday, March 7, 2009Rating: rosettes

Kim Bridger
 Great pub
This is a great and friendly pub with excellent value home-cooked food. The current landlor is Bob lawrence
Saturday, March 7, 2009Rating: rosettes

Anne Mason
 
The main courses were well prepared and tasty but the portion size was NOT value for money. The desserts when they arrived some 40/45 minutes after ordering bore NO resemblance to their descriptions and were again vastly overpriced.

With rumours that one in five restaurants will close during 2009 some serious rethinking is required.

The young lady who served us was very pleasant. The lady behind the bar not so

The rating of 1 is for the young lady
Monday, December 29, 2008Rating: rosettes

Simon Marks
 Popular with a young crowd
Large bar with good juke box.

Wednesday, September 17, 2008Rating: rosettes

Ali Trent
 CLOSED DOWN
This pub no longer exists, I think it's a restaurant
Wednesday, September 17, 2008Rating: No rosettes

Holly Parker
 Lovely Local
Great pub, friendly atmosphere and it's a proper old pub.

Highly recommend.
Wednesday, September 17, 2008Rating: rosettes

Bev Gills
 Lovely pub
Gorgeous pub, amazing food and friendly staff.

You need a car to get to it but it's really lovely.
Wednesday, September 17, 2008Rating: rosettes

Stuart James
 
Three yanks, one Japanese, and two Brits, and we ALL liked it!
Tuesday, July 15, 2008Rating: rosettes

Alex C-Marks
 A must!
The place is Cosy and always full of life. It goes without saying that the food is of the highest quality and always tastes absolutely wonderful. The portions are generous, beautifully presented, staff are helpfull and very pleasant. The prices admitedly aren't cheap, but when you take into account that most of the products are either Organic, GM free or Locally grown, it is to be expected. Overall, for a distinguished pub experience George & The Dragon is a must.
Saturday, February 17, 2007Rating: rosettes

John Davis
 Robin Hood Rocks!
Not the prettiest pub in Tunbridge Wells but who cares!

Food is great, staff are friendly (when you get to know them) and they have a regular karaoke which is great fun for everyone.
Thursday, January 11, 2007Rating: rosettes

biscuit
 
two words one meaning shithole!
Sunday, January 7, 2007Rating: No rosettes

David Edwards
 Hidden gem.
11.11.06. Visited just after noon fairly quiet but great welcome and good beer (lined half-pint glasses well filled) - what more could one want from a tiny pub.
Saturday, November 11, 2006Rating: rosettes

Paul Townsend
 Friendly pub with good ales.
Very friendly pub for the more mature drinker (meaning that there are no or very few under 21's). Behind the bar a range of lagers and ciders (pah!) and three real ales were on offer: Harvey's Sussex Bitter, Timothy Taylor's Landlord and Westerhams Breweries' Grass Hopper. Didn't try the Landlord but the other two were excellent.

The medium to small size (but no so tiny you feel cramped) and wooden floors throughout give it a cosy and proper pub feel. Friendly staff and regulars mean it is pleasant to stand or sit at the bar or you can sit at one of the small tables scattered along the wall opposite the bar. A small well maintained pool table occupies the large space next to the door with a jukebox nearby. At the other end the open space is occupied by an area for playing darts.

I throughly recommend popping into the Grove Tavern - a diamond in the jewel of the Spa town's eye.
Tuesday, October 3, 2006Rating: rosettes

steve riv
 passthecat
hi phil...hope it's you there...i've been trying to call you about some live music...we spoke at the swan in wittersham...my number is
01580 761366
Thursday, September 14, 2006Rating: No rosettes

Moondial
 Great Pub!
One of my favourite haunts as they regularly have bands, DJ's and other fun events all year around.
Monday, September 4, 2006Rating: rosettes

C&M
 James Kern
Dear Sir

We have had nothing but truly great meals at this estabishment. Please go back and give it another go. You won't be disappointed...I could go on and on .. but won't.. it really is the best foody pub I have ever visited.
Wednesday, May 24, 2006Rating: rosettes

Sandra
 Under New Ownership
This pub will be re-opening on 2nd February 2006. There are new owners and the place has been completely refurbished in a modern contemporary style. The place to be in 2006
Saturday, January 28, 2006Rating: rosettes

Sharon
 Great pub
New owners Kim and Paul who are very pleasant and welcoming. Kim is Scottish and Paul is Welsh! Good atmosphere and great food. Nice big beer gardens for the barbecues in the summer. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.
Friday, November 4, 2005Rating: rosettes

John Duffy
 Village Local
Excellent pub food and superb fishfood speciality restaraunt attached. Excellent speckled hen, very friendly, cosy atmosphere, a true village public house. Licensee ex professional golfer and very welcoming. Very very much worth a vist. LOCATION IS IN PEMBURY a village 4 miles from Tunbridge Wells
Wednesday, October 12, 2005Rating: rosettes

James Kern
 Lost that welcoming touch
We recently went for lunch at the G&D in Speldhurst and were inspired by the owner who told us all the produce was from local providers. Unfortunately when my food arrived I had to read the menu again to remind myself what I had ordered. The owners dined on the table next to us. When their friends showed up they moved paying customers around, who were already eating, to accomodate themselves, making people feel as though we had imposed on the owners private party. This has to be the most expensive pub in Kent.
Wednesday, October 12, 2005Rating: rosettes

boil in the bag barry
 The Huntsman
I love it.

I've never been but it beats playing foosball / airhockey with wind/ject/wolf
Tuesday, September 27, 2005Rating: rosettes

Jo Rogers
 Stylish, reasonably priced food and great wine!
It is refreshing to have such new cuisine brought to the area - particularly of the calibre served at the G & D. You will not be disappointed by either the menu or the service. Looking forward to many evenings and Sunday lunches there!
Thursday, May 12, 2005Rating: rosettes

Andrew Cook
 Appalling and unfriendly
Probably one of the worst pubs that we've been in. Distinctly disinterested employees who bordered on the downright unfriendly. No atmosphere, unclean toilets, and food most unappealing. Avoid this one if you're in the area!
Friday, February 18, 2005Rating: No rosettes

Lorraine Baker
 Good Food
Went mid week with friends and child. Very good food and service, good value for money. Didnt feel discriminated against although with child.Would reccomend to others.
Saturday, December 11, 2004Rating: rosettes

James Marden
 Elephants Head
Would agree with last comment. We were barred from the pub by the same petty and unbelievably rude landlords son who was clearly inept at his job and in serious need of help!
Saturday, November 6, 2004Rating: No rosettes

Francis Doherty
 Elephants Head
Run by possibly the rudest landlords son that our organisation has ever met. Would never go there again and strongly advise others to be very wary.
Saturday, November 6, 2004Rating: No rosettes


Wednesday, December 13, 2017
YOU ARE IN
EDINBURGH

Whats On

List FEATURED Pubs



FEATURE SEARCH
Real Ale
Guest Ales
Wine Selection
Restaurant
Bar Food
Country Pubs
Town/City Pubs
Scenic Pubs
Student Pubs
Quiet Pubs
Accommodation
Function Room
Open Fire Pubs
Wooden Beams
Games Room
Beer Garden
Kids Welcome
Wheelchair Access
Pets Welcome
WI-FI Access
SKY Sports TV


View the Comments



Copyright © 1999 - 2013 www.bestpubs.co.uk ltd V2.1.19